AQA Unit Award Scheme (UAS)

Enquire More

Who is AQA?

AQA stands for The Assessment and Qualifications Alliance. It is an awarding body in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. In addition, the AQA national examining board also offers public exams such as GCSE and A-level, making AQA one of five awarding bodies that are recognised by schools and most of the universities across the country.

What is AQA Unit Award Scheme (UAS)?

The Unit Award Scheme (UAS) is a unique scheme offered by AQA to record and recognise the achievement of the students/learners who completed the assigned units. Instead of being a qualification, the UAS scheme offers students/learners the opportunity to obtain a certificate that formally recognises their achievements upon the completion of a short unit of learning.

Am I eligible?

The UAS has no limits on the students’/learners’ age or ability. The unit of learning is not limited on how long it takes to achieve or when this takes place. The motto of UAS if ‘Achievement for All’, therefore it values the flexibility of learning and hopes to encourage and support students/learners to develop their full potentials. In addition, as long as the content of the learning is worthwhile and meaningful, the unit of learning will be qualified to be accredited. The AQA UAS certifications are also used in most of KnewSTEP’s programmes including Cambridge Summer Project, Personalised Programme, Teacher Development Courses, or School Training Programme etc.

What do others say about the UAS?

As quoted by one of the UAS centres – Little Heath School in Redbridge UK, “The AQA Unit Award Scheme is invaluable as it is an important pathway for our students to receive accreditation for their achievements. It provides a wide range of units which are differentiated, making accreditation accessible to all pupils regardless of their ability”. The benefits of obtaining a UAS certificate include not only a good record on students’/learners’ curriculum vitae, but also a valuable opportunity to develop transferable skills and pave a good foundation to other qualification. As a result, this equips you with the necessary skills and experience for applying to boarding schools and universities.

How to apply?

There are currently nearly 10,000 units of learning in UAS that are recognised by AQA. With our own qualified AQA UAS coordinator, KnewSTEP Education team has gathered a list of popular units of learning for students/learners. Upon the completion of a unit of learning with us/our partner centres, all students/learners will be rewarded with a certificate the recognises your learning outcome. We are here to stand with you, study with you, and achieve with you. Click here to contact our educational team to enquire more.